Your Career Assessment Said What?

Yesterday, in a fit of desperation (so many choices) I decided to hit up the internet in search of a career assessment or two.

I found a plethora of sites promising to point one in the right direction of SUCCESS!, but unfortunately, several of them refused to give the results of the 100-question test without a credit card number (not that they would find anything on mine, nonetheless) but a few did give me a solid response. I have no idea how scientific these were, but while my favorite results included “singer, dancer, artist, journalist, writer” I had two different careers that were highlighted in all four of the sites I visited.

Because I bet you can never guess, here they are:

A clergy member.

AAAAAND…

A genetic counselor. (I had to look that one up).

Sadly, neither of these careers are anything I had ever imagined doing. Um, a member of the clergy? Although I’m sure this encompasses much more, the only image I’m getting is me, fully enrobed, hanging out in the confessional listening to my flock.

Upon reflection, I am often entreated for advice from many of my friends, but this generally does not include asking for forgiveness from He (nor is it about dealing with any genetic diseases they might be carrying, which is primarily what a genetic counselor does, fyi) but more along the lines of  “oh-my-God-what-did-I-do-what-now?”

As mentioned, the scientificity of said assessments is questionable. But just in case, I’m going to go read the Bible and research genetic diseases.

Hey, you never know.

Leave a Reply

