Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2

It’s time for my first movie review!

And, fittingly, it’s for one of my favorite series.

The last movie (tear) was really quite good. It didn’t have the charm of the 6th (one of my favorites) but it also left some of the angst from Part 1 behind.

Like with every movie, there are small things left out (sometimes several words that I think really made the scene in the book) but, after all, when does the movie really live up to the book?

Especially such a book, filled with webs untangled, mysteries revealed, heart-wrenching moments, and J.K. Rowling’s incomparable storytelling.

The movie, unfortunately, failed to capture (**spoiler alert**) the sheer elation of Harry and the rest of the Wizarding world upon the defeat of Voldemort, but it did a decent job of grabbing the bittersweet moments of growing up, and then watching your children leave you, as well. There were certainly the triumphs–Ron and Hermione kissing, the death of Voldemort, Snape’s true allegiance–and the heartaches–the Resurrection Stone, Fred, Harry facing his demise.

I had a big problem with Harry telling Ron and Hermione he was sacrificing himself, and with him simply breaking the Elder Wand in half, but these details still did not detract from the overall feeling of the film.

The ending was corny, of course–as was the books–but hey, doesn’t Harry deserve a little corniness after all he’s been through? Although I must say, Hermione ages really well.

I have read that many critics are calling this the best movie–my favorites are still the 4th and 6th movies–but it is a satisfying end to the series.

It was fun to watch several of the older movies before watching the finale. While the characters have changed immensely, they still have the same core about them–Emma Watson, while she has certainly physically changed, doesn’t sound so much different from her eleven-year-old self meeting Ron (who is eating, no surprise) with a bit of disgust and disdain in her voice. And Harry, of course, remains his troubled yet awed by this new world self as he has from the beginning. Ron remains the brave, goofy sidekick–although I am glad that Ron had his heroic moments, as well. One of Rowling’s most powerful abilities is to, while giving her characters slots, is to also make them immensely more complicated that merely the hero, the sidekick, and the smart best friend.

The movies, for the most part, give us a glimpse of these complications, and let’s us visit their world and get to know the characters in a different way from what the books provide.

I urge anyone reading this, if they have not done so, to read the books through and through, to truly gain the magic of the tale of Harry Potter. It’s hard for me to describe how much these books have affected me; not only did they help me learn about right and wrong, the power of humanity, the immense changes present in every life, they also enhanced and deepened my already dear love of reading and writing. If one woman can create a world like this, a world that really has impacted our world, what kind of world can I invent? The books also gave me a glimpse of the sheer complications of people, and a fascination that still exists today.

I feel like I am not doing a very good job at explaining what these books mean to me…so much for my years of English literary education, huh?

Anyway, while there are certainly gaping holes in the movies, they provide a good foundation for the stories, and if anything, make the stories even more British.

I kind of don’t want it to ever end–but we must put away childish things.

Although, I might have to see the movie again and revisit this topic. 🙂

Leave a Reply

