Numbers

Well, the first day of my new job involved a lot of numbers.

And a lot of math, unfortunately, but we’ll get to that in a minute. First, here’s a sum of my FIRST DAY!

45 minutes: my commute time.

19.9 miles: total mileage of trip.

10: the number of times my new GPS (thanks Dad!) shouting “Keep left!” and such made me jump.

1: the number of times (noticed) that I was flipped off on the freeway.

3: the number of times I circled the building looking for a parking spot.

1: the number of times I went the wrong way down a one-way.

4-digit number: my educational award amount.

3-digit number: my monthly stipend.

6: other AmeriCorps members.

2: other AmeriCorps at my site, besides my site leader.

1: the number of times I spilled my coffee.

3: the number of young girls who asked “why is your hair so poufy?” (And I straightened it! A very rare occurence! Although apparently that hot stick is useless in the face of my hair.)

27: kids present at the Opportunity Center–where I will be spending most of my time from now on.

2: kids that may have actually liked me.

20: math homework problems that required my aid.

6: math problems I didn’t understand (mostly involving graphs).

3: math problems I couldn’t get right (mostly involving long multiplication).

1: math trick I was able to pass on.

0: years of math that I actually retained.

2: copies of The Idiot’s Guide to 5th Grade Math and Pre-Algebra I now need to purchase…if they exist.

9: hours on my first day.

1: hour stuck in traffic on my way home.

12: hours I slept in recovery.

Hopefully, you are not losing hope in me or the “I Have a Dream Foundation.” I may be way over my head…but it was only my first day. 🙂

Now, off to enjoy my four day weekend! Happy and safe one to all of you!

Leave a Reply

