Snooze

Well, as this week has been a wonderful, overwhelming, fascinating, intimidating, frightening, and JAM-PACKED week of orientation for my (rapidly becoming beloved) Colorado “I Have a Dream” Foundation, I haven’t written much.

BUT, for your pleasure (and for my mental health), I decided to do a light, fun post: my first ever RESTAURANT review!

Here’s a hint:

Need more?

Ta-DA!

Last weekend, Eric and I had the pleasure of (finally) sampling a famous, local Denver “a.m. eatery” called Snooze. There are several locations, and still the waiting was almost an hour!

We decided we had to try it, so we moseyed next door to the Macy’s and dreamed over the fancy kitchen supplied (well, I dreamed) while we waited to escape the heat.

Too many people were waiting inside, you see. Which always bodes well for a restaurant, no?

That was the only unfortunate part of the whole experience (and our waitress was a bit odd) but the food was fantastic. Of course, I had heard good things about the pancakes, and I assumed that would be the focus of  their menu–but it was huge! Our neighbors had a very intriguing omelette with cream cheese–my favorite.

We both still ordered pancakes, however, as it had been declared a pancake morning–me, the sweet potato with ginger butter, and Eric order lemon blueberry bar pancakes.

While we were waiting, I read about the founder’s experience with in Guatemala and his decision to only stock coffee grown locally there–which made me like the place before I even had a bite of food!

In no time at all, our weird but nice waitress swept out with our food, and the wait, let me tell you, was worth it!

Clever, unique recipes, and my pancakes were delish. I even liked (as in, I made sure it was completely slathered over my ‘cakes) the ginger butter, which sounded plain odd to me. I didn’t taste much of Eric’s food as I was too involved in my own, but what I tasted didn’t disappoint! They were huge–I couldn’t finish mine unfortunately–and just about $20 for the two of us! Not bad for the big city!

We’ll definitely be going back there, and if you ever come to visit, I promise I’ll take you there as well. 🙂 Plus, their menu changes seasonally…I saw some ‘cakes that involved pineapple that I might not be able to resist…

That’s all for now, folks, as my brain even feels like mush. I came home and tried to read a fascinating book we were given, In the Deep Heart’s Core by Michael Johnston (who also happens to be a Senator here in Colorado and on the board for CIHAD!), and even though I am completely impassioned with the subject of educational reform, I just couldn’t engage.

So, time to watch some Bones and maybe take a bath!

One thought on “Snooze

  1. Pingback: I Look Like Lady Gaga | Amy Tries To Write

Leave a Reply

